Popularity of Owls

Last month we posted an owl necklace on our facebook page and received more questions and orders on the necklace than any other ever.  I was surprised at the popularity of the necklace but grew to love it as one of my favorites also. Since then, I have been researching the meaning and popularity of owl jewelry.  This is what I have learned:

The owl is a very popular jewelry symbol because it is an accessory with several layers of symbolism. The owl is said to be a creature with profound wisdom and intelligence, and a sense of awareness of self and all around it far greater than most other creatures. The owl is also known to be a brave and courageous creature that follows its sense of intuition and instinct diligently.

Owl themed jewelry is the big trend this year. The unique shape, mysterious and secretive aura and the enchanting eyes of the owl all find a place in fashion this year.

About a month ago, my cousin Robyn and I spent the weekend at our grandmothers learning about her past and documenting her stories on video.  As I was helping my grandmother organize her jewelry I came across an owl pendant that was her mothers from the 30’s.  My grandmother said her mother loved owls and it was a status symbol at the time to own Owl jewelry.  It was neat to see that the popularity of Owl jewelry has been around for a while and history does repeat itself.  I did not get to take the Owl necklace with me but I did get a picture for all of you to see the resemblance in the white owl pendant and the gold owl pendant necklace Too Gypsies had for sale.  Have a great weekend!!!

Gold Owl Necklace

Great Grandmother's Necklace

About taleof2gypsies

Hi Friends, this blog is the brain child of two lifelong friends who have decided to open a handmade accessories store and write a blog about it together. We've known each other all our lives and share a love for creativity, imagination, simplicity and nature to name a few. Who knows what will happen.... But, we plan to document the journey, adventures and misadventures of this creative process. It's going to be a crazy ride and we can't wait...
This entry was posted in Fun Things! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment